The CFA is the governing body of your local fire and rescue service and is made up of 17 elected Members.

These councillors are from Leicester City, Leicestershire County and Rutland County Councils. The number of elected members on the Combined Fire Authority put forward by each of the three councils is proportionate to the number of electors in their respective area. The councillors on the Combined Fire Authority also reflect the political make up of the constituent authorities.

Their role is to provide an efficient fire and rescue service in accordance with various legislative requirements. The Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004 sets out the principal expectations for the service. Ministerial responsibility for fire and rescue policy now sits under the Home Office. The Fire and Rescue National Framework for England sets out the government’s expectations and requirements for fire and rescue authorities.

The CFA comprises 17 elected members from LeicesterLeicestershire, and Rutland.

The CFA meets up to five times a year. It has two sub-committees, Corporate Governance and Employment. Details of the meetings, along with papers, can be found on the CFA meetings page. Member appointments to committees, along with details of allowances and a register of their interests can be found in the documents below.

If for any reason you wish to make a complaint against a Member of the Authority, please contact us by completing the Complaints Against a Member of the Authority form.